Julia Child’s Baked Spinach

“This is the sort of thing that I would have hated as a child, but love today.” This was the verdict from my husband, upon tasting the creamed spinach/kale casserole. As if on cue, both kids recoiled from the suggestion to give theirs a try. I can’t say I blame them. I remember five well enough to know that creamed spinach would have been the sort of offering that left me sitting pitifully at the table, staring at my plate for forever.

Thankfully, tastes do change, and Julia Child makes greens about as appealing as anyone can. When I saw this on my blog feed, I knew that I would be making it with the CSA. Seriously, Smitten Kitchen is just the best. And can I just go out on a limb here and suggest that a big part of the growth in the CSA movement is not simply attributable to Michal Pollan and Bittman, et al, but also to the proliferation of excellent food blogs that provide free, constantly updating resources for chefs in need?

I made this with everything that I had of kale and spinach for one week, and it was great. It was still only 2 lbs of greens though, so I had to make some adjustments to the recipe. It really takes a full 3 lbs to serve 4 people, at least if you expect it to be a big part of the meal.

Really, it is hard to mess this recipe up. I know that dear Julia was famous for fretting over her recipes and taking great care to make sure that people could accurately follow them and get great results. So I felt like a bit of a cheat just throwing it all together, but like I said, the dish didn’t seem to suffer any for my slap-dash approach. Also? It’s completely fine to get it all ready to bake the night before and then just bake it off the next day. It helps make baked spinach a weeknight meal.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in kale, spinach. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

