Avocado Arugula Pesto

(No, I could not help myself, and yes, it was FANTASTIC)

I was supposed to cook dinner today for someone who is both gluten-free and vegetarian. And, while I totally GET why you would be both of those things (even maybe simultaneously), I can get a bit ornery when faced with a dinner party with strict restrictions. So I went to one of my favorite blogs, In My Box, because Scrumptious is both gluten-free and vegan, and yet, somehow, manages to continually come up with lovely, tasty recipes, and not, you know, starve to death (which is what would happen to me, I’m certain). Sure enough, I found what I was looking for. And it looked so good that when the couple cancelled on me, I decided to make it anyway, but swapping out the ridiculously expensive gluten-free pasta for plain old wheat stuff.

I basically followed all the instructions in this post (the second part, not the first), for “the most hyperbolic meal ever.” Indeed, Scrumptious, indeed. Sam couldn’t say enough great things about it. My big innovation was to sub in arugula for basil, largely because I had a bunch from the share. I recommend doing it my way, because it was great (and this is my blog). The genius behind the avocado pesto innovation is Chloe Coscarelli.

  • 2 oz arugula
  • 1/4 C pine nuts
  • 1 avocado
  • 1/4 C olive oil
  • 1 Tsp lemon juice
  • 1 clove garlic
  • salt and pepper

Blend it all up in your food processor, and serve over 8 oz pasta. Makes enough for 4 servings if you use reasonable portion control, but realistically, you’re going to want to keep eating this even after your portion is gone. So let’s say three.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in arugula, avocado. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Avocado Arugula Pesto

  1. scrumptious says:

    That looks soooo good. I will definitely try this with arugula next time! I’m so glad that our blog friendship, formed through our CSA connection, was able to help you out in your GF vegetarian time of need! Your blog is the only food blog I follow that is neither GF nor veg, and I’m sure that particularity will come in handy for me someday, too. 🙂

    Oh now I want to go and make arugula avocado pesto. This always happens the minute after I finish planning my menu for the week – I get all inspired and want to go make other things, too!

    • Well, I hope nobody ever insists on your serving them meat (or dairy or gluten)! But if that happens, let me assure you that the chard and sausage pasta is really amazing (which neatly hits all three). I really appreciate that you follow even though it must be somewhat less than totally informative seeing what I do with the shares. I have to say, your recipes have saved me more than a few times, and inspired me much more often. I hope you keep it up!

      Meanwhile, I got a new appreciation for how the cost of eating gluten-free could add up. When I was looking in the stores, the costs for the gluten free versions of things were at least 2x organic. I don’t know how you would do it on a budget!

      Also, congrats on the killer blender! I look forward to seeing what you blend. 🙂

  2. Ricky says:

    This pesto was a great idea. I didn’t have any arugula left over from last week so I boiled some collard greens instead, drained them, chopped them and threw them in the blender with all the other ingredients. It was slightly bitter so I added a tbsp of blue agave to sweeten it up a little. Turned bright green like yours. I used this pesto for the paninis’ I made this evening and will use the rest for a pasta tomorrow.

    • Amazing! This may save collards for me. Truth be told, I struggle with them. The real innovation is the avocado, which is so creamy and delicious in this treatment. Good to know that the greens can be varied!

Leave a Reply

