The Share

Talking to the farmers this week at a lovely farm dinner (thank you, all, again!), I was shocked to discover that my fabulously organic avocados were considered undesirable. Unsell-able in markets, even.  Apparently they aren’t the right color or something on the outside? Of course, this could easily be rectified by using some chemical or other on them, but for the organic CSA, they obviously forgo the chemical. So the only thing fit to do with such ugly avocados is put them in shares. Lucky us!

I didn’t unpack the share this week, and we didn’t get a newsletter in our box, so I’m doing this somewhat from memory based on what I saw when I cleaned out the fridge.

The Haul:

  • Arugula
  • Spinach
  • Kale
  • Chard
  • Collards
  • Lettuce
  • Cilantro
  • Avocadps
  • Celery
  • Carrots
  • Brccoli
  • Green onions

The Plan:

  • Avocado and arugula pesto
  • Chard and sausage over pasta
  • Reprise the celery soup for the kids
  • Julia Child’s Baked Spinach (& kale?)
  • Meatloaf

 

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in CSA. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

