Cream of Celery and Bok Choy Soup

My little getting-through-the-CSA-despite-being-a-working-mom secret is that I do A LOT of the weekly prep on Saturday in the late morning/early afternoon. It really helps me to just power through all the messy work, clean the kitchen once, and know that I have a solid start on the week. It also helps me to see how the CSA ingredients puzzle can fit together. This week, it meant having the bright idea to use the white parts of the Bok Choy to augment my Cream of Celery Soup.

So, yes, I had almost a whole heart of celery left over from the previous week, just screaming to be used RIGHT NOW. When a veggie is on the downhill trend, my first thought is always soup, which is a neat rescue plan. The celery did not quite make it up to the pound that was called for in the soup, but the bok choy made up the remainder perfectly.  The results were so good that now I wonder whether cream of bok choy would be good too?

Incidentally, the kids both happily ate the soup, much to my utter delight and amazement. My daughter LOVES celery (Can you imagine mustering overwhelming enthusiasm for celery? Me either.), so I figured it would work for her, but I was thrilled to find that the 2 year old enjoyed it too.

Drawing heavily from Mark Bittman:

  • 3 Tbs Butter
  • 1 smallish onion, chopped
  • 1 lb celery, or bok choy stems, or a combination thereof
  • 1 russet potato, pelled and chopped
  • 3 C stock or water, or some mix
  • 1/2 C heavy cream
  • Salt and pepper

Melt butter in a soup pot. Saute onion and celery/bok choy in butter for 10 – 15 minutes. Add potato and stock and bring to a boil. simmer for another 15 – 20 minutes. Puree the soup until smooth. Add cream, and adjust the seasonings.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in bok choi, celery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

