Bok Choy Pesto

This is one of those experiments that seemed just on the edge enough to be an absolute disaster, but being otherwise flat out of ideas for bok choy, I figured I’d try it. And hey, if I happened to ruin a whole head of bok choy, well, oops.

But is was so not a disaster, I can’t even believe it. In fact, I’m posting this even though I haven’t quite finished uploading the photos, because whatever else your plans were for bok choy, I think you should drop them RIGHT NOW and make this pesto. My plans are to put some on burgers with sauteed mushrooms tomorrow, and to put it in sandwiches the rest of the week. I may add it as a garnish to my cream of celery soup too. (More on that soon!) The flavor is so fresh and the color is so lovely and bright, that I’m certain you will love it!

  • 1 head bok choy
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/4 C neutral oil
  • 1 Tsp – 1 Tbs grated ginger
  • 1 Tbs sesame oil
  • 1/3 C peanuts
  • salt and pepper

Cut the dark green leaves away from the white stems. Set the stems apart for another use (I used mine in a cream of celery soup to make up for a bit too little celery, which was my clever way to try to destroy two meals with one effort, but the soup also came out great). In a large blender, blend all the ingredients above. If the pesto is too thick, add hot water 1 Tbs at a time until your pesto is the desired consistency.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in bok choi and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bok Choy Pesto

  1. Melissa Maxwell-Doherty says:

    I was going to make the bok choy pizza on Tuesday. I am tempted by your “drop all other recipes” invitation. Thoughts?

    I LOVE your blog. My whole family is better for it.

  2. InCucinaDaME says:

    Love the idea and am going to experiment on this 🙂
    Brilliant picture

Leave a Reply

