Chard and Meat Pie

As I mentioned in my last post, I got a trip away for a couple of days as a birthday gift from Sam. The people I visited are childless, and I took the opportunity to do lots of stuff that I don’t have much time in my life for right now – live music, dancing, shopping, a pedicure, and of course, eating out.

So I love to eat out, and miss it horribly right now, but after two days of not feeling compelled to eat only CSA foods, I was amazed by how deep and strong my cravings for a big pile of veggies became. The CSA is seriously important to my health right now. Leaving it for 2 days confirmed it beyond what I had even imagined.

Swiss chard is so terribly abundant, isn’t it? What a great problem to have, really. But after literally MONTHS of eating a bunch every week, you do need to get creative with it. I started thinking about chard as filling – maybe lasagna, or pot pie, or some such. Then some friends visited, and I decided to throw it into a meat pie.

Here’s my latest version (If anyone knows how to take a great pic of something like this, PLEASE let me know!):

  • 1 onion, chopped very small
  • 1 bunch chard, chopped small
  • 8 oz mushrooms, chopped small
  • 3 chicken sausages
  • 1 C jasmine rice
  • 1/4 C chopped dried pear
  • 1/4 C pine nuts
  • 2 eggs
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 pie crusts

Preheat oven to 375. In a small pot, rinse and cook rice according to package directions. In a large saute pan, cook sausage, breaking it up into very small pieces. Using a slotted spoon, put sausage into a large mixing bowl, and drain off excess oil. Add onion to pan and saute about 5 minutes, or until starting to brown. Add chard and mushrooms, and cook about 10 minutes more, or until soft. Add to bowl with sausage. When rice is finished, add it to the sausage veggie mix. Add nuts and raisins and stir well. In a separate bowl, beat eggs, and then dump them over the sausage mix. Season with salt and pepper. Stir it all around well.

Roll out pie crusts so that one is large enough to go all the way up the sides of a 9″ springform pan. Place it in pan, and then add veggie mix. Cover with other pie crust and fold edges together. Cut vents in the top. Bake for 35 – 40 minutes, or until crust is golden brown. Let sit 15 minutes before serving.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in swiss chard, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

