The Share – On How Bugs Can be Welcome, Occasionally

So last week I posted a bit of personal stuff, about how being in a CSA can be hard sometimes, despite being super rewarding. And in the process I mentioned bugs. And then one of the lovely farmers posted a comment about how there would be no bugs in my kale this week, which made me think that perhaps this is a more sensitive issue than I had imagined.

I’ve gotten produce from a variety of organic farms here in Ventura County over the last 5 years, either from Farmer’s markets or as a CSA subscriber. The deal with organic produce is that no matter who is growing it, you will at least occasionally find bugs. The farmers have lots of really clever ways to minimize insect invasion, they take lots of care to give us the cleanest produce available, and there will still be bugs sometimes. Look at it this way – if a bug doesn’t want to eat it because it’s covered with chemicals, you probably don’t either.

So I welcome the occasional bug as guarantor of organic certification. I just want to be really careful when prepping veggies to wash them off!

This was another weird week. We got the box and the next morning I left on a three day trip to Phoenix to visit some friends – a birthday trip given to me by my fabulous husband. My plans are a bit off, but here they are anyway.

The Haul

  • Lettuce – 2 kinds
  • Arugula
  • Chard
  • Kale (siberian)
  • Spinach
  • Broccoli
  • Turnips
  • Celery
  • Oranges
  • Avocados
  • Lemons

The Plan

  • Chard goes into a meat pie
  • More braised celery
  • Turnips get mashed with russets into a side dish

 

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in CSA. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

