Spring Soup

Until I came to California, I had never even heard of spring onions. In the upper midwest (where I grew up and spent considerable years of my adulthood), despite years of Farmers Market shopping, I never once saw anything called a spring onion. For that matter, there was never much spring either.

I have no idea whether or not we will be getting these little gems in my current CSA. We did in my last one, and there tends to be a fair amount of overlap, so I am hopeful. I confess that the first time I encountered a spring onion, I didn’t even really know what parts were edible. I had to call my farmer to be sure. How strange and wonderful to find out that the answer was “all.”

If you had spring onions, that would be perfect for this soup, but frankly, green onions worked just fine. I love the mix of spring flavors in this clean, bright soup. And the kids also thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • 8 oz spinach, washed well
  • 4 oz kale
  • 5 bunches green onions, chopped
  • 2 C stock
  • nutmeg
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 C cream
  • generous 1/2 C frozen peas

In a soup pot, place spinach, kale, onions, and stock. Heat until boiling and spinach and kale are wilted. Grate some fresh nutmeg over the soup and add a little salt and pepper. Carefully pour soup into a blender. Add cream and peas. Blend until smooth.

Makes 4 smallish servings. Definitely serve with some hearty bread and a salad.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in spinach and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

