On How Most things Worth Doing Can Occasionally Be a Pain in the Ass

Most weeks I truly look forward to the share. The joy I derive from knowing where my food comes from far outweighs the inconvenience of having to spend 30 or more minutes washing, drying, sorting, and prepping all the veggies to keep them fresh for the week.

But last week Cosmo got a terrible fever on Monday. In between trying to split Cosmo sick duty with Sam, I was working on a giant and complicated project at work that was not going smoothly. Sick baby had been keeping us up at nights, and hiring sitters to take him while we altered our work schedules was draining our mental resources and our bank account.

When Thursday rolled around, I was barely able to stand up, and the last thing I wanted to do after finally getting the kids to bed was spend another hour cleaning the kitchen and washing the veggies. To make matters worse, I had discovered last week that my kale washing technique was not nearly aggressive enough to make sure the kale was free of whatever those little grey bugs are (seriously, what ARE those things?), so I knew I was going to have to invest even more energy than usual in the process. Suddenly the logic of double-washed grocery store lettuce made perfect sense to me.

If I was Anne Lamotte, at this point, the essay would devolve into something about how this minor inconvenience made me think something semi-interesting about the nature of God. But I’m not Anne, and frankly, I was happy enough to wallow in my angry and tired thoughts. I think this is ok. I don’t need everything I care about to be a constant source of joy or a moment to ponder the mysteries. In my world, there is some real value in recognizing and dwelling in challenges as well as delights.

Today, of course, Cosmo is on amoxicillin, and I am happy that I pushed myself through the veggie prep. I’m looking at cream of spinach soup, braised chard with curry, and broccoli pasta this week, and that all sounds wonderful. So without further ado,

The Haul:

  • Spinach
  • Ruby Lettuce
  • Butter Lettuce
  • Avocados
  • Kale
  • Chard
  • Collards
  • Celery
  • Daikon
  • Broccoli
  • Turnips
  • Oranges
  • Lemons

The Plan:

Take each day as it comes.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in CSA and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to On How Most things Worth Doing Can Occasionally Be a Pain in the Ass

  1. Erynn says:

    Sorry to hear about the rough week. Little grey bugs are aphids. I promise your Siberian Kale will NOT have aphids this week.

  2. ksk says:

    I roasted my daikon and turnips last week (per the recommendation of the lovely Erynn). It was both delicious AND it was a way to use the daikon that didn’t stink up the house. I’m excited about your braised chard with curry plan, I’m feeling pretty done with chard lately and I’m desperate for some new uses.

    • Erynn is genius. Roasting is the perfect answer, though I still smell the daikon in the house. Maybe it’s just me!

    • Oh, but seriously? There will ALWAYS be chard.

      • ksk says:

        Can you create a recipe for a chard dessert? You’re a dessert genius (made the lemon cake tonight, yum!) and the kids can’t say no to dessert, right?

      • oooh, hard to imagine. I know there are ways to squirrel spinach into brownies, but I don’t know about chard. I suppose it’s worth a try though. I’m thinking about chard as filling these days – maybe quiche or strata, or maybe as a calzone? Some sort of individual pot pies with chard inside? Just something to get out of the sautee habit…

Leave a Reply

