Organization

How to get my kitchen to really hum is among my favorite things to think about. I’m an efficiency geek, which is to say that half the time I gain by knowing how to get things done in the shortest possible amount of time I reinvest in thinking about how my systems could be improved. The rest I spend blogging.

So to this end, my spice drawer had been on my to-do list for about forever (or at least since moving away from my fabulously laid-out kitchen in South Bend, where the built-in spice rack solution was ridiculously perfect). I don’t do a ton of cooking with spices, but I do enough to want them to be fresh, easily accessible, and organized in such a way so I don’t forget that they are there. I’m stuck with the spice drawer in part because my shelf space is at a premium, and my drawer space is wildly abundant, and it makes the most logical sense to keep them where they are. So I wasn’t looking to change that much. I just wanted it to be clean and matching.

I looked at a number of pre-set solutions, but didn’t love any of them. Enter the Sunburst Bottle Co. Here, I was able to locate jars in a variety of sizes, and eventually found the perfect size for my space. What I chose were 7 oz cosmetic jars, which fit perfectly 3 across by 6 down, with a nice wide mouth for dipping spoons and whatnot in for measuring. I only ordered one case, but I will order the second to fill in the remaining space, and the 6 that will be left over, I’m certain that I can find a use for.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Meta. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

