Daikon Cakes

Daikon cakes are traditional in Chinese cooking, but these are not the same. The real deal involves chinese sausages, a fair number of ingredients that I have no idea how to identify or obtain, and takes a lot longer to make. By contrast, these are sort of like potato pancakes with Asian touches.

The daikon is hands down the most ridiculously pungent vegetable I have ever had in my house. I grated and salted it to get it ready for this recipe, and I could smell it clearly even in the farthest reaches of my home. For days. Thank goodness it tastes good, because otherwise it would be horribly gross.

Sam and I really enjoyed the cakes, because frying makes everything taste great. We managed to get the kids to eat them somewhat, but not joyfully. Dessert is a powerful carrot in our home. However, I think this would work great for older kids and even moderately more adventuresome eaters.

  • 1 daikon, grated (about 2 – 3 C)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 3 Tbs flour
  • pepper
  • 1/4 C green onion, chopped
  • panko
  • 2 tbs mayonnaise
  • sriracha

Put grated daikon in a collander and stir in the salt. Let the daikon release water for at least 30 minutes, and squeeze it to get as much liquid out as possible. (This step can be done a day ahead.) Mix daikon in a bowl with pepper, egg, and flour. Stir in onions.

Heat oil in a pan over medium high heat. Form cakes by making the mix into balls and then flattening them out in the panko. Fry intil crispy, 4 – 5 minutes per side.

Mix mayo and a squirt of sriracha and serve over the cakes.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in daikon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daikon Cakes

  1. Tammy McLeod says:

    I just had roasted daikon for the first time and have a new love. These cakes look equally good and I’ll try them this week. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

