Savory Zucchini Quick Bread

Would you believe that up until this week, I still had bags of shredded zucchini in my freezer left over from the Great Zucchini CSA Deluge of Summer 2010? Well, I did. I’m not sure how I managed it exactly, but I guess in a half-crazed CSA induced waste-avoiding panic, I decided that ziplock bags of shredded zucchini would be just the thing to have once the winter hit. And while this technique might have served me well in Wisconsin or Indiana, or any other of my former Northern homes, here in SoCal the CSA just keeps chugging right on through the winter months, never leaving one enough time to long for a defrosted taste of summer in a plastic bag.

I managed to get through most of the bags, and had just one left when I decided it was finally time to try this savory quick bread recipe that I had been thinking about for months. Now, I can’t believe that I waited so long to try it. And I am sorry that I didn’t do this with all of my zucchini, because damn, it is good.

I know that zucchini is in the title and all, but you honestly don’t need it. You could just as easily make this bread with a few extra olives and cheese, and lose the squash entirely, and it would be every bit as delicious. But if you are on the hunt for great ways to use zucchini (and really, who isn’t?), add this recipe to your list.

The recipe is beautifully written here, so no need to reprint it.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in zucchini and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Savory Zucchini Quick Bread

  1. ksk says:

    Any chance we could throw some chard stems or celery in for the zucchini? I’m kidding, kind of. I’m swimming in CSA celery right now. My kids are sick of “bugs on a log” and I’m looking forward to hearing how the braised celery turns out – even if that sounds kinda gross.

    • Agreed, Braised Celery sounds appaling. But Bittman swears by it, and he is seldom wrong. I haven’t tried it yet – just did a raw salad with feta and harissa and carrots instead for speed and ease. But to really have done with your celery, nab some exrtra carrots and an onion, and make yourself some decent veggie stock. No guilt, because how else would you make stock?

Leave a Reply

