The Share

The first week back was pretty good. I ended the week with half an avocado and some celery that didn’t get eaten, which is not too shabby. Winter CSA life feels virtuous. You eat all your greens, and almost never have to worry about things going to waste! But as I look through the list of veggies from this week, I find that I am fresh out of menu ideas. It can’t just be a week of all salads, so I will have to get creative!

The Haul:

  • Lettuce
  • Daikon (gargantuan)
  • Avocados (4)
  • Kale
  • Chard
  • Collards
  • Arugula
  • Celery
  • Cabbage
  • Broccoli
  • Carrots
  • Lemons

The Plan:

  • Mashed Potato and Kale cakes
  • Maybe Pickled Daikon with some peanut-noodle dish?
  • Lemon Curd is in order now that we have 7 lemons!
  • I’m probably going to give in this week and try Bittman’s braised celery even though it sounds horrific to me right now
About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in CSA, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Share

  1. Ricky says:

    Hmm seems we share an exact CSA box. If you need ideas for the daikon radish, short of pickling, I was able to use it creatively in 2 recipes. First, I diced them and put them in my tofu pot pie as a substitute for potatoes. I also used my CSA carrots, celery, and cabbage in the pot pie. The whole time my GF thought it was potatoes it tasted so good. My other recipe I made a vegetable patty. This consisted of shredding the radish, carrots, celery, onion and mixing it with some eggs, hot sauce, bread crumbs, and seasoning. Then form into a patty and pan fry them up and eat with some sour cream or as a patty in a burger. Do you have any ideas for all this cabbage other than the kimchi?

    • Daikon pot pie sounds great! Nice to know that it gets milder when baked, because that’s certainly not the case when pickled. Curious about the patty idea. I’ve never done anything like it.

      As for the cabbage, my go-to recipe is not vegetarian, so it doesn’t work for everyone, but it is to fry up some bacon cut into pieces, drain and dump off most of the fat, add shredded cabbage and white wine and cook until soft. We make this a lot. I’ll be doing an Asian treatment with daikon and carrot this week though.

Leave a Reply

