Carrot and Chard Risotto

Risotto is usually my go-to dumping grounds for whatever veggies I can’t otherwise get to. So it felt a little weird to start the week with one. I sure was glad that I did though. It was delicious and creamy, and warmed me up on what passes for a cold winter night here in SoCal.

I was really inspired by Bittman’s Braised Chard, but wanted to turn it into a more substantial main dish. I started with the Bittman basic recipe, subbed in risotto for the rice, and added a little wine and cheese to kick it up a bit. I don’t have any pics because my camera battery died at an inopportune time, but to be honest, it tasted better than it looked anyway.

  • bunch chard
  • 1/2 medium onion, chopped
  • 1/2 C carrot, chopped
  • 2 tbs butter
  • 1 1/2 C risotto
  • 1/2 C white wine
  • 2 – 3 C veggie stock
  • 1 C grated Parmesan

Stem the chard, and chop both the leaves and the stems into small pieces. In a dutch oven, melt the butter, and then add the onion, carrot, and chard stems. Saute over medium heat until lightly browned, about 8 minutes.

Add risotto to the pot and then wine. Be sure to scrape up any brown bits on the bottom.  Add chard leaves and 2 C stock and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to a simmer, and let simmer about 30 minutes, or until the risotto is soft, adding more stock as necessary to keep everything moist. Before serving, stir in Parmesan.

Serves 4.

If I had been making this for a dinner party, I would have sliced some mushrooms and sauteed them separately in a little butter and garlic, and served them over the top of the risotto.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in carrot, mushrooms, swiss chard and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Carrot and Chard Risotto

  1. ksk says:

    Thanks for the yummy recipe. I made this last night. Because I was serving it with Korean BBQ (from TJ’s, of course) – I ommitted the cheese and added some Chinese Five Spice. The sweetness of the carrots worked really well with the spice. My kids said it was a little too “spazzy” – meaning that I put too much stuff in it. BUT they ate it and even asked for seconds. You are my hero!

  2. What a great variation! I’m going to try it next (because there will always be more chard). Sooo great when the kids willingly eat things that are good for them. Don’t you feel like you’ve won when that happens? Mine liked it too (probably b/c of the cheese though), which means that we will definitely put it on the menu again!

Leave a Reply

