Back on the Wagon

Last night, I made a spectacular franken-soup, out of onion, frozen shredded zucchini, carrots, and what I thought was winter squash when I pulled it out, but upon defrosting, turned out to be some curry-carrot soup that I barely remember making. It was tasting pretty good, and then I got the idea to add a couple Tbs of peanut butter, and after that it was really great. Also highly kid-friendly. Still, I’m excited to have some real veggies to work with. This cobbling things together from the freezer is getting old.

The Haul

  • Ruby Lettuce
  • Baby Butter lettuce (so sweet!)
  • French Breakfast Radishes
  • Haas Avocados (4)
  • Lacinato Kale
  • Chard
  • Collard Greens
  • Arugula
  • Lemon (4)
  • Celery
  • Green Cabbage
  • Broccoli
  • Baby Carrots

The Plan:

  • Chard and Carrot Risotto
  • Kale Chips
  • Fish Tacos (using cabbage + avocado)
  • Celery-Radish salad with honey-dijon dressing
  • Roast Broccoli

The rest will probably go into salads. I also have a plan to make harissa-marinated bbq chicken, which is interesting, but not because of how it uses veggies from the CSA. All in all, it’s a pretty easy week!

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in CSA and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back on the Wagon

  1. ksk says:

    These sound like great ideas, I’d love the recipe for the risotto. Do you put raw collard greens in salad? I stir-fried my collard greens from the CSA, but that didn’t go over terribly well… Love your blog! I’ve been working my way through your archives. πŸ™‚

    • I made the risotto last night and it was really wonderful. It was a riff on Bittman’s braised chard which I was hoping to turn into a more substantial meal. I will post, but sadly, sans photos, as my battery died at exactly the wrong time!

      As for the collards, I do struggle with those. I wouldn’t do them raw, and most applications that I like them in require you to cook them forever, which is sort of hard to plan for when your whole focus is quick meals. I’m ashamed to admit this, but I almost always give them to a friend. She loves them, and is always grateful for the greens. I didn’t post that on the blog because it’s not the most pro-CSA thing to do, right? How much better would it be for me to figure out a solid application? I wish I had better answers for you there!

      Thanks for following!

      • ksk says:

        There is no shame in “gifting” CSA abundance, lol. I think the main problem with finding something to do with the collard greens is that I just don’t like ’em. I thought maybe I just got turned off by the grayish-green, slimy characteristics that they take on when being cooked? I was hoping that maybe there was a raw way to use them. Have you ever tried them in a juice blend? Or I could just send mine to your friend, too.

      • I should give you her number. πŸ™‚ It never occurred to me to try juicing them, probably because I don’t own a juicer. Still, I wonder if you couldn’t wring their awesome nutrients out while mostly masking their flavor by juicing with other good veggies. If you try it, let me know!

        One of my farmer friends declared it his mission to raise collards above what he called their “white trash roots.” I think that he hasn’t quite succeeded yet. πŸ™‚ He also thought that you could “cook” them in acid, like a ceviche, which was a total disaster for me. I’m pretty sure he’s a ruminant. I’ve found that the best collards are cooked with a healthy helping of pork fat and then they take on a soft lusciousness. Of course, by the time you’ve done that the health benefits of your meal are dubious at best. I’ve never found a reasonable raw application, but I could look. You could maybe stuff them like stuffed cabbage? But that’s rather a lot of work. You see why I give them away…

Leave a Reply

