Return to the CSA

I haven’t posted for a while because there hasn’t really been anything much to say. After all the holiday guests went back to their homes, we decided it was time to eat out of the freezer, and get that nice and clean. Keeping up with the freezer is one of my big menu challenges, since it’s so easy to throw veggies that we don’t get to during the week into the freezer to keep, but then the next week we just get more veggies and never seem to need the frozen ones. We’ve eaten exclusively from the freezer for the last week, and I still have a bag of beets, several tubs of pesto and a couple things of winter squash staring at me in there.

Eating from the freezer is noble, but makes for awfully boring blog content. Which is why it has been silent around these parts.

This week we start up with our CSA again, but with some changes. We ended up switching CSAs. The decision was logistical as much as anything, but the fact that we got a jar of awesome locally grown honey from the new farmers in the first share didn’t hurt. Making the switch felt really awkward and awful. The thing about knowing your farmer personally is that you tend to like them. In this case, I had really wonderfully warm feelings for both my old farmer and his wife, and telling them about the change felt like a break-up. They seemed to be cool with it, but I was a wreck.

In the coming days I’ll have the Haul and the menu plan, and hopefully something more interesting to show off than the dreck I’ve made lately. Thanks for tuning in!

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in CSA. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

