Buckeyes

Oh, my goodness how I love buckeyes! Growing up, my mother didn’t do huge Christmas cookie productions, but she always made pizzelles. Now good pizzelles are irresistible, but they aren’t even a little bit as decadent as good buckeyes. Fortunately, I never went wanting, because these peanut butter candies were a Christmas staple in every other midwestern household, and I could always dive into them at my friends’ houses.

As an adult, buckeyes are a bit overwhelming, in the same way that fudge can sometimes get to be too much. So when I saw this recipe on Smitten Kitchen, with graham crackers as a substitute for some of the sugar, and cream cheese for balance, I knew that would be my go-to.

Aren’t her’s just gorgeous? Mine on the other hand definitely look homemade. By a child. I think the difference here is in the understanding of the properties of melted chocolate, as in, what does the temperature have to be to get it to look that nice? Any help from the crew back in the midwest would be appreciated! I know all your families made these, so what’s the trick to having them come out beautifully?

Other than the visual irregularities, these are incredible. This is a great recipe, and one that I will hang on to for every Christmas!

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in chocolate, cookies, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

