Chocolate Peppermint Cookies

 

When I ran the bakery, making my own Christmas cookies would have felt crazy. The sheer number of gingerbread men that I rolled out over those 4 years would put anyone off the idea for life. This is not to mention the mountains of Pannettone and spice breads, etc, etc. Since selling the bakery, we’ve trucked up to the Bay area to spend the holidays with my husband’s family, and pretty much all of the baking was more than amply taken care of by my sister in law.

All this is to say that we don’t have much of a cookie tradition going in our household, but this is the year to start. One of my favorite flavor combinations for the holidays is chocolate and peppermint (which is why the Candy Cane Joe Joes do me in every freaking year). So when I saw this great recipe come through my Facebook feed, I immediately added it to the cookie list.

Let me just say it does not disappoint. I followed the directions exactly, and they came out great. I’m printing it below (with some unresolved formatting issues, argh), for reference, but you should go ahead and give the Cooking Channel people some love and follow them via Facebook, or whatever other vehicle you prefer.

  • 8 ounces semi-sweet chocolate, finely chopped, melted and cooled
  • 2 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon peppermint extract
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup powdered sugar

In a large mixing bowl, combine the melted chocolate, 2 cups granulated sugar, 1/2 cup canola oil, vanilla extract, and peppermint extract.

Stir in the eggs, one at a time until combined.

In a separate mixing bowl, stir together flour, baking powder, and salt until thoroughly combined.

Add the mixed dry ingredients to the wet ingredients; mix just until combined. Cover and refrigerate for at least 3 hours or place in your freezer for 45 minutes until the dough is chilled. Cook’s Note: This will make the dough easier to work with.

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Line a sheet tray with parchment paper or coat with nonstick cooking spray.

Working with 1/4 of the dough at a time, begin rolling the cold dough into portions about the size of a tablespoon or portion using a 2-ounce ice cream scoop.

In 2 separate bowls, separate the remaining 1/2 cup of granulated sugar and 3/4 cup powdered sugar. Roll each ball of dough first in the granulated sugar followed by a generous amount of powdered sugar. Place about 2-inches apart on prepared cookie sheets.

Bake 12 to 14 minutes or until the center of the cookie is set. Remove from cookie sheets and cool on cooling racks.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Peppermint Cookies

  1. Nathan D says:

    As a former professional baker, can you comment on why all baking recipes insist that you mix all dry ingredients together first? When I do cookies and such I like to dirty only one bowl – that of my stand mixer – but to do that I always end up adding the leavening/salt/dry seasoning to the wet mixture, then the flour last. Seems to work out, but perhaps I am missing some chemical magic that would make my baked goods more awesome?

    • So you’re right to think that it has to do with gluten breakdown in the flour, and your approach is as good as any. FWIW in the bakery, nobody bothers with that either unless some real sifting has to occur. It takes way more beating of the flour to break down gluten that what you would probably do with your home equipment anyway.

Leave a Reply

