Thankful

I’m about to get to the holiday cookie part of the blog, with a bit of dealing with the CSA winter greens thrown in, but I thought I’d pause a minute to go back to Thanksgiving, and write the post that I was thinking but never got around to, what with the exhaustion and all.

At the feast, rather than go around the table and say what we are thankful for, Sam told a brief story from the Talmud. It was far less geeky than it sounds, I promise, and was an ideal solution to having 11 people there who would have been staring at their food while we laboriously went all around the table. But the problem is that I never got to publicly declare what I am thankful for. And that feels like a real loss. So I’m doing it here.

1. I am grateful for machines that do housework for me, esp the washer/dryer and dishwasher. Think about this – less than a century ago, the only way to wash clothes was BY HAND. Today, you can pop them into a machine, pop them into another machine, and all you have left to do is fold and put them away. This seems like a small miracle to me. And every time I hear moms complain about the mountains of laundry they have to do, I can’t help but feel like they are thinking about it all wrong. Machines do the bulk of our work. We should be grateful.

2. Anesthesia. I just broke my foot badly enough to require surgery and a screw in my bone, and it was POSSIBLE TO ACHIEVE THIS. Think about what that means. The vast majority of human history, surgery was impossible, or impossibly gruesome. Today, it’s as clean, efficient, and painless as it is possible to be.  Don’t even get me started on what this means for labor and childbirth. It’s all good. We should feel constantly thankful for living when we do.

3. Food. Even I am old enough to remember when living in North Carolina meant that you couldn’t get a decent bagel, and green beans most commonly came from cans. Now I can find most Asian ingredients at my local grocery store (as can everyone), not to mention just about everything else, and the possibilities for experimentation are endless. This makes me happy.

Of course I’m grateful for much more, but that gets into schmoopy family stuff, which I am practically allergic to declaring here. I’ll leave you with this: I asked the 2 year old what he was thankful for, and his answer was “apple juice.” My kind of kid!

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

