Thanksgiving

In a move that will – to my future self – seem either incredibly ridiculous or triumphant and brave, I have somehow committed myself to cooking Thanksgiving for 10, despite still recovering from the foot surgery. Sam argues that I can’t really count the kids in the 10, as they hardly require extra effort w/r/t food prep. True enough, but I would like for them to be actual participants in this feast – to join us fully in thanksgiving, and so I am counting them as guests at the table.

Partially, my over-commitment stems from my absolute LOVE of Thanksgiving. Early in our marriage, I claimed the holiday as mine. I agreed to travel anywhere Sam chose for any of the other holidays, but I always wanted to host the Thanksgiving meal. It’s the easiest holiday to get right, after all. It has none of the heavy expectations that we place on the other major holidays, nor much theological detail that must be considered. All you really have to do to master Thanksgiving is know how to roast a bird, and make the meal come together simultaneously. And I am nothing if not a good meal planner.

I am so good in fact that I began today. One of the desserts will be a chocolate beet cake that I have posted to the blog before. My goal is to get CSA veggies into as many dishes as possible this year, and so beet cake seemed like an obvious choice. More than ever, it is critical for me to get the planning just right, as my energy for being upright is still sub-optimal. So when my friends offered to take my kids off my hands for a few hours this morning, the first thing I thought was, “now is the perfect time to make the beet cake.”

Halfway into it, I was starting to wish my brain had directed me toward “now is the perfect time to lie about for a good long while” instead. Cooking when you cannot walk turns out to be completely exhausting. My kitchen, although big enough, is thankfully close. I can balance in one spot and reach many things via a simple pivot. Still, covering several pans with blood-red beets, hopping to and from the pantry multiple times (in order to be able to use my hands for carrying, you see), and cleaning up the mess turned out to use about as much energy as I could muster. Afterward, I fell asleep for an hour.

Still, I have somehow managed to get four lovely layers of chocolate beet cake into my freezer, where they will stay until I frost them the morning of Thanksgiving. If you haven’t tried it, I highly recommend frosting frozen cakes, rather than fresh. It almost always returns better results. I’ll be alternating with chocolate pudding and cream cheese frosting. Once I have pictures of the finished product, I’ll repost the recipe here.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thanksgiving

  1. scrumptious says:

    That beet cake sounds incredible. Four layers? Cream cheese and chocolate pudding frostings?? Yowza.

    I hope the holiday went well and you were able to take care of yourself at the same time!

Leave a Reply

