Super Duper Healthy Cookies

I love the idea of healthy cookies – a little treat that you can feel good about because it’s all natural and delicious. Also, I needed an activity for Nell on a rainy Saturday. So when I spotted a healthy cookie recipe on 101 Cookbooks, I knew that I had found my rainy-day project.

These cookies are gluten free, vegan, and can be sugar free too, if you choose the right chocolate. I only had Toll House on hand, so that’s what we used. The concept is a sort of loose batter of bananas and nuts and oats that bakes into neat little rounds. So while they may be healthy, they are certainly not guilt-free in the low calorie sense of things.

Honestly, I really thought the kids would like these, as they taste like really dense banana bread with chocolate. No dice. Even my good eater refused it, and Nellie just ate the chocolate from around the edges. So I took the cookies into work. But that same day, another coworker brought in mini coconut cupcakes. Nobody even looked at my cookies.

And that’s really the point, right? Sure you can make a great tasting healthy alternative to dessert, but unless you have some really compelling reason to go gluten-free, vegan, or sugar-free, why bother? A mini coconut cupcake will be much more satisfying.

In case you want to try:

Mash 3 bananas with 1/4 C oil. Mix in 2 C rolled oats, 2/3 C almond meal, 1/3 C coconut, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp baking powder, and blend well. Stir in 6 oz chocolate chips. Bake for 12 – 14 minutes at 350.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

