Super duper healthy soup

Soup makes a great weeknight meal, and so when I found one  that I had not yet tried in my favorite Jack Bishop cookbook, I decided that it had to go on the weekly menu, especially since it promised to make good use of my kale.

Frankly this was among the less impressive recipes in A Year in A Vegetarian Kitchen, which I otherwise love. Here are some modifications that I would make based on my experience:

  1. Add stock instead of plain water, as the soup badly needs salt and richness
  2. Add cream instead of a Parmesan rind, which sticks to the kale in an unpleasant way
  3. I’d probably add some macaroni to this as well just to make it more Minestrone-like

Gah! Could this picture be any worse? It wasn’t a very photogenic soup, I’m afraid.

Here’s the original:

Kale and Chickpea Soup with Parmesan

  • 2 T EVOO
  • 1 medium Onion, chopped
  • 2 medium carrots, chopped
  • 1 celery stalk, finely chopped
  • 6 medium garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 1 15 oz can chickpeas
  • 6 cups water
  • Parmesan rind
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 sprig fresh rosemary
  • 3/4 lb kale, leaves only, chopped small
  • 3/4 C freshly grated Parmesan

Heat EVOO in a soup pot over medium, and add onion, carrots, celery and garlic, and cook until veggies are lightly browned, about 15 mins. Add tomatoes and 1 tsp salt and bring to a simmer. Add chickpeas and simmer 5 minutes.

Add water, cheese rind, bay leaves, and rosemary and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to simmer and let cook for 30 minutes. Add kale and continue to cook about 10 minutes more. Remove bay leaves, rosemary and cheese rind.

Serve with a healthy topping of cheese.


About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

