Kale Alfredo Sauce over Pasta

I told our dinner guest that the Alfredo sauce was “light,” and he stopped me in my tracks by saying, “I know.” At first I was horrified. I mean, how many times have you been told “you can’t even tell it’s light” only to discover with that first bite that not only can you absolutely tell its light, you can also tell that trying to make it light was a horrible culinary mistake?

With Alfredo sauce though, the full-fat version is an absolute cream bomb, its heaviness impossible to miss, and running close to 1,000 calories a serving. I find it hard to enjoy. Apparently my friend felt the same. So while I normally advocate butter, cream, and all manner of satisfying foods, this is one case where adding some non-traditional ingredients actually does make a strangely more satisfying meal. At least I enjoy it more without so much guilt.

I toyed for a while with the idea of pureeing the kale, raw right into the sauce, but since I also wanted to add mushrooms, I went for small-cut pieces instead. I’d still try it the other way, which I think would be interesting and tasty.

  • 1 small bunch kale, chopped fine
  • 1 pack 8oz mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 C milk
  • 2 Tbs flour
  • 3 oz light cream cheese
  • 2 T butter
  • 3 cloves garlic, pressed
  • 1 C parmesan
  • salt and pepper

Let cream cheese come up to room temp. In a blender, mix cream cheese, milk and flour. In a saucepan, cook kale with a couple Tbs water, until the water has mostly boiled off. Add 2 Tbs butter, garlic and sliced mushrooms, and saute a bit more. Add milk mix, and cook until starting to thicken. Add cheese, salt and pepper, and cook a few minutes more. Remove from heat and let sit a few minutes before serving.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in kale, mushrooms, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

