Beet Salad

It’s nice to see the beets coming around again. Maybe in a month I’ll feel differently, but I was thrilled to see the candy stripes in our share.

I made this salad to accompany a pasta main dish that I was making for friends. Normally, I would have topped it with candied walnuts, but since I had a few handfuls of delicious pumpkin seeds on hand, I used those instead. The results were wonderful.

  • 2 beets, rosted
  • lettuce and arugula combined, or just arugula
  • goat cheese
  • roasted pumpkin seeds, or walnuts

I like to assemble these salads on individual plates. Just arrange the ingredients nicely. It doesn’t even need dressing, but a hint of high quality EVOO wouldn’t be out of place either. To candy walnuts, simply put a handful into a non-stick pan, set it over medium heat, and add a heaping Tbs of sugar.  Keep the walnuts in motion, and when the sugar has melted and stuck itself to the nuts, you’re done!

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in arugula, beets, pumpkin, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

