Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

I wouldn’t normally bother to roast pumpkin seeds. It’s too much effort for what you get, I think, especially since you can grab them for cheap at our store. But I was roasting this darling little baby pam pumpkin, and the seeds were just slipping out of their goo, begging to be roasted, so I thought I’d give it another chance.

I tossed the rinsed seeds with a little melted butter and salt, and roasted at 300 for 45 minutes. I can’t even describe how good they tasted. It was sort of like your favorite movie popcorn, but fresher and crunchier.

Because of the butter, my instinct was to store them in a cool place in an airtight container, but it hardly mattered, as the kids ate them up so fast that spoilage was never a concern.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in pumpkin. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

  1. Kelly Scheder says:

    We put the seeds in boiling salt water, then roast in oil. They have a wonderful salty, but not too salty taste and are gobbled up quick!

Leave a Reply

