Collards on Pasta

I was starting to think that there was truly no recipe out there that would make me look forward to collard greens. And frankly, I’m still not quite there, but what follows is as close as I have ever come.

I don’t know why it occurred to me to do this? I guess that I’ve tried collards with bacon, and I’ve tried them with onions, and I’ve tried them with tomatoes, and finally it dawned on me that perhaps trying them with all three would be the solution. I confess that I used canned Trader Joe’s marinara for the tomato sauce, and you know what? That stuff is pretty excellent as far as canned marinara goes.

  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 1 bunch collards cut into smallish bits
  • 8 oz marinara
  • 5 or 6 slices prociutto, cut into bits
  • grated parmesan
  • 8 oz pasta

In a saucepan, saute onions in a little olive oil until they get soft. Add marinara and collards and simmer 10 minutes, or until the collards are nice and soft. If you want the greens extra soft, you may prefer to par-boil them for ten minutes first, but I found just dumping them in sufficient.

Meanwhile, boil pasta according to package directions. Serve pasta with sauce over top. Top with prociutto and grated cheese.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in collard greens, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

