Pickled Green Tomatoes

Life has been nuts lately. Lots of evening activities followed by having to work part of the weekend equals no time for blogging. I’m working my way back in here.

I posted to Facebook that I had green tomatoes, and it freaked my friends in colder climates right out. What could possibly be the reason for picking green tomatoes in California? In truth, our garden had just become gangly and unmanageable. Our one tomato plant that still had life in it was sacrificed for the efficiency of cleaning out the bed in one fast morning. Besides, we are still getting loads of tomatoes from the farm, so there is no tomato deprivation in our house.

I fried a few, but didn’t love them. The rest I pickled. Let me just say that pickled green tomatoes are a very happy thing. I threw in lots of jalapenos and garlic, and the results are fantastic.

There’s almost no recipe here: I packed a quart jar with sliced tomatoes, peppers, garlic, and a bit of onion as tightly as I could. Then I brought 2/3 C vinegar (plain or white wine both work) and 1 C water to a simmer with a couple Tbs salt and a dollop of sugar and dumped that mix over the veggies. By the next morning they were already yummy, and they got better as the week wore on. I’m just keeping these in the fridge to eat in the next month or so. They love a good turkey sandwich.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in jalapeno, onion, tomato and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

