Baba Ganoush

I′ve made no secret of my tepid feelings for eggplant. Basically, I just don’t understand the point. It doesn’t taste like much, and it’s sort of slimy. Why bother?

Then this week, I made Baba Ganoush.  At work, instead of eating popcorn or chips for snack, I pulled it out at 10:30 am and ate it with peppers and carrots. And then didn’t get hungry again. I never wanted lunch, and was just starting to get hungry by the time dinner rolled around. I’m starting to think that baba ganoush is MAGIC. Either that or it’s about 800 calories per serving.

But, it just can′t be bad for you right? Look at the list of ingredients:

  • 2 medium eggplants, roasted
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 2 tbs sesame seeds (or tahini, if you’re the type to keep it around)
  • generous handfuls of cilantro and parsley
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon, or a splash of white wine vinegar, if you are without citrus
  • salt and pepper

Blend it up, that’s it. I found the garlic to be a bit overwhelming. Next time I would either halve it, or roast it with the eggplant for a mellower flavor. It was all about the cilantro and parsley for me. Yum!

Seriously, this recipe might make me an eggplant convert.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in eggplant and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baba Ganoush

  1. scrumptious says:

    Yes! The Eggplant Lobby is rubbing their hands together in glee!

Leave a Reply

