Gingered Carrot Soup

This recipe is not some sort of fruit forward California wine that smacks you in the face. Rather, it’s a refined French Pinot – subtle and balanced. It is sweet and perfect, and every member of the family will happily eat it along with a good-sized chunk of hearty bread.

Have I posted this recipe before? Probably. I can’t help but be amazed by how much I love it every time I make it though. Carrot soup makes me happy in a very basic way. Many carrot soups ask you to add other flavors. I was surprised at how delicious this stripped-down version was.

2.5 lbs carrots, chopped
1 large clove garlic
1.5 Tbs ginger, chopped
3 Tbs butter
Salt and pepper

If I had an onion hanging around, I almost certainly would have put it in as well. No onion, no matter. It was still delicious.

Melt butter in a large soup pan. Add garlic and ginger and cook over medium heat for a minute or two. Add carrots and let them get slightly brown in the butter, about another 5 minutes or so. Cover with water and bring to a boil. When the carrots are falling apart easily, blend the soup to smoothness.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in carrot. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

