The Share

I’ve been getting shares, but not blogging them – travel and such got in the way of really making full use of them. But now we’re back! It was a lighter than usual share this week, with all items filling into the crisper nicely.

While on hiatus, I grabbed a bunch of extra b-grade tomatoes from the farm and made a pretty huge pot of sauce – at least 4 meals worth. I did the whole boiling peeling crushing thing, which is so unlike me. Usually I can’t be bothered, but with so many tomatoes and a bit of spare time, I decided to give it a go. I added three heads of roasted garlic to give it lots of earthy richness, and it was good.

The Haul
Carrots
Leek
Lettuce
Collards
Chard (will it ever end?)
Basil
Tomatoes
Squash
Avocados
Eggplants
Peppers (all varieties)

The Plan
Gingered Carrot Soup
Fried Eggplant maybe also with some Pizza Bomba from Jamie Oliver’s Jamie at Home – mix it all up with some homemade marinara, and I think the kids will be glad for it
Something with roasted peppers
I’ve been wondering if it would work to do my favorite cabbage treatment with collards – white wine and bacon. This is the week to try.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Share

  1. Scrumptious says:

    Yum, sounds like a tasty share this week! I know how you feel about the chard – I mean, I don't feel that way about chard, I feel that way about lettuce, but sometimes one vegetable can just get relentless!Your plan for the week sounds super delicious – I'm eager to know how the collards turn out!

  2. Thanks! I'm working toward having a better attitude about chard. But it comes every week for 11 months. I'm thinking of maybe as breakfast with eggs? Or else I'll take it as a snack one of these days instead of my usual fruit.Lettuce makes me NUTS. At least there are options for chard…

Leave a Reply

