My Life Lately

The routine has been upturned lately. My kids flew up to San Jose with my sister-in-law for a stay with the cousins, and for the first time in over two year, Sam and I were kid-free for 5 whole days. Although that would seem to mean that I could spend all day cooking and all night blogging, what it meant, in fact, was something quite other. Loosed from the normal time/space constraints, I spent a fair portion of the week simply cleaning things out. Old clothes went to friends, baby toys went to a new mother, old files went to the shredder, and old food went to the composter. For dinner, I ate whatever was quick and easy. Mostly, it wouldn’t look good on the blog.

I also managed to get some reading in, and took down the better part of The Lost Art of Real Cooking: Rediscovering the Pleasures of Traditional Food One Recipe at a Time. More on that in a future post. We decided to go wine tasting, and I ate rabbit for the first time at a fancy restaurant. Also more on that later. Finally, I ordered a book for myself that I have wanted for a while, On Food and Cooking, a title so eminently forgettable that despite having the book in the house, and even being a fair way into the chapter on dairy, I still had to get up and look at the book to remember the name. Fortunately, the content is as dazzling as the title is boring. I believe this will prove to be a very useful book.

As I type, I am remembering my life two years ago, five days overdue with my son, and finally starting to believe that the contractions I was having would in fact turn into serious labor. Five hours later, he was born. It still feels so precious and magical. I hope that feeling never goes away.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

