Roasted Tomato Soup

The tomato abundance is amazing. Our farmer has literally harvested over a ton of tomatoes so far this season, and it still has two months to go. So I get a good sized bag of tomatoes every week. Mostly this delights me. Occasionally, it is hard to deal with, and I find myself throwing a hail Mary at the end of their life. That’s how I got to making this soup.

This soup is as easy as it gets. Most of the time while it’s cooking you don’t have to do anything but be kind-of nearby your kitchen. I put it together on a day that I was working from home, and ate it the next day at work. It’s only four ingredients, but tastes like much more.

Tomatoes, maybe 10 for 2 servings
1/2 onion
basil
veggie stock

Preheat oven to 425. Cut tomatoes in half and set cut side up on a roasting pan. Cut onion into large pieces. Toss onion with EVO and a little salt and pepper and place on another baking sheet. Drizzle some EVOO over the tomatoes, and give them a few good shakes of salt and pepper too.

Roast veggies for 30 minutes. Add all veggies to a blender along with a good handful of basil, and blend. Slowly add in some veggie stock until your soup is the desired consistency.  Serves 2.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in tomato. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

