I’m not proud of this…

I was invited to a block party, and instructed to bring something to grill, something to drink, and something to share. No problem with the first two, but that last one always trips me up. My style of cooking is not terribly pot-luck friendly, and I don’t have a cache of recipes that I can turn to when it’s time to share a dish.

I decided on a dip, just because that seemed like the least-stressful route, and made something called BLT dip. I’m not sure where the “L” comes in exactly, but the “B” was there in abundance. So was the mayo.

The recipe basically goes like this: cook a pound of bacon (the oven is probably the easiest method here), and crumble it into a bowl with 1 C mayo and 1 C sour cream. Seed and dice 1 tomato, and stir it all together. I added fresh green onion too.

No joke, it was the first thing to get eaten up. It was SICK, it was so good.

There was a guy there who makes his own cotton candy. The kids were in love with him and the incredible whirring machine. This is perfect. If you can bring your own cotton candy to the party, you never have to worry about bringing anything else again. I may invest. I’m not sure my arteries can take another round of BLT dip.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in don't try this at home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

