Stuffed Peppers

One of the fun parts of blogging about food is that when people write to me, in addition to whatever else they want to share, they usually tell me what they are cooking, which often inspires my own experimentation.

Such was the case with this recipe. A friend from grad school had told me about some quinoa stuffed tomatoes he had made recently, which made me want to do some stuffing of my own. We had just gotten some pretty lovely peppers in the share, so I decided to make my favorite sort of CSA meal – One CSA vegetable stuffed with other CSA vegetables, with a side of CSA vegetables. Because that’s how you get through the share.

I think I preferred the idea of this recipe to the actual recipe, but Sam couldn’t say enough good things about it. When it comes right down to it, I find green pepper to be a hard flavor to work with, I guess. I think this would have been better with an oily sausage and cheese stuffing, but it certainly is healthier and fresher as written.

1/2 medium onion, diced
2 medium carrots, diced
1 garlic clove
8 – 10 cherry tomatoes, cut in half
handful of pine nuts
1Tbs chopped parsley
1/2 C uncooked quinoa
healthy 1/2 C grated parm
salt and pepper
2 bell peppers

Preheat oven to 350. Rinse quinoa under cool water, and add to pot with 1 C water. Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer, and cook about 15 minutes covered.

Add carrot and onion to a saute pan with some EVOO and cook until vegetables are soft and starting to brown. Add tomatoes, and cook until saucy. Add garlic (pressed), and cook one minute more.

Mix vegetables with quinoa, parsley, pinenuts, most of the parm, and salt and pepper. Cut the tops off two peppers and clean out the insides. Stuff the peppers with the quinoa mixture, and top with a little more parmesan. Bake peppers for 25 – 30 minutes or until tough-tender.

Serves 2.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in carrot, onion, pepper, quinoa, tomato. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

