Pickled Melon

I had just cut up the watermelon for the kids and had all the rind in a pile waiting to go out to the compost when it dawned on me that I had been wanting to try David Chang’s pickled watermelon rind. I grabbed Momofuku only to discover that I didn’t have two key ingredients on hand – ginger and star anise – which it didn’t seem as though I could really do without. Not if I wanted to do justice to the recipe anyway.

Instead, I decided to make another Chang pickle recipe that I had been wondering about. The process to pickle watermelon and cantaloupe is exactly the same as it is to pickle beets, and since I had all those ingredients on hand, I decided to try it out.

Pickled melon is as beautiful as it is delicious. This couldn’t be simpler, and the flavor is wonderful. That said, I have NO CLUE what I am going to do with it. A pre-dinner pickle plate is all I can come up with. Maybe I can serve it alongside some take-out sushi?

The quick-pick process is super simple –

1 C hot water
1/2 C rice vinegar
6 Tbs sugar
2.5 tsp kosher salt.

Stir sugar and salt in hot water until dissolved. Add vinegar. Add veggies. Let sit for a while. Eat!

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in melon. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pickled Melon

  1. Scrumptious says:

    These are simply gorgeous! I've had (and loved) Russian-style pickled watermelon and watermelon rind, but never with these more Japanese pickling seasonings. I'd love to try them out some day!Have you pickled turnips before? I adore them! There's a recipe on my blog. It's super easy.

Leave a Reply

