Homemade Ice Cream

I am not crafty. I do not sew, paste things, scrapbook, make gift baskets, or otherwise affix cute hand-written labels to anything. Everything I try to make looks like it was created by a 7 year old, and not in a cute-sloppy way. Whatever gene that Martha has that enables her to make perfect hand-made goods completely skipped me.

So it surprised even me that I was willing to try a very girl scout type task of homemade ice cream in a bag with the kids. I was pretty sure it would fail.

Fortunately, it’s dead simple. Put 1/2 c dairy (half and half or milk) in a small ziplock with 1 Tbs sugar, and the tiniest little drop of vanilla you can imagine. Dump that into a gallon bag half filled with ice and 6 Tbs rock salt. Have the kids shake for 5 minutes.

Of course, you know who did most of the shaking…

It tasted pretty wonderful.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

