The Share

I feel like I’ve fallen off the wagon a bit w/r/t the CSA. Either that or I’ve lost some of the usually attendant guilt at not getting through everything. I’m trying, really I am, but the number of vegetables that I have given to friends, or (worse) just trucked out to the composter has been growing in recent weeks.

My main issue is that it’s hard to want to buy any more veggies than what comes in the share because we can barely get through what we have, and yet we’re getting very little right now that my kids actually want to eat. Almost nothing I can do will make my kids want to eat squash or tomatoes, and if I’m honest with myself, I struggled with those veggies too until I got a little older than they are now. So I’m reluctant to force the issue. I just keep on the lookout for time and kid friendly recipes to keep on trying!

It turns out that I’m lucky to be in an Ojai CSA, because our friends in Camarillo farm programs are not getting any tomatoes! It has been unseasonably cool and cloudy, and the tomatoes are not in yet. So I think I’m going to effect a trade or two because I’m running out of good tomato ideas.

The Share
Onion
Lettuce x2
Basil
Chard
Collards
Squash
Tomatoes
Eggplant
Cucumbers (one is a lemon cucumber!)
Oranges
Zinnias

The Plan
Try out the new recipe my friend gave me for greens
Squash Carbonara
Trade the tomatoes for some tomatillos from a friend
Actually finally do right by the eggplant and make something with it

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Share

  1. Why not share your share (obviously I mean the veggies you don't know what to do with) with a soup kitchen, food bank, … places that give away food to people who need it? I just heard on NPR that about 19 million kids in this country go hungry on a daily basis …

  2. Doris, you are so right. I should figure out how to do this. Sad to say, I'm not even sure where I would take the veggies right now, but I'll figure it out. Meanwhile, I have been sharing with underpaid teachers, and I think that is also pretty nice. 🙂 I've also heard some of the NPR stories – the figures are indeed astonishing. Especially because I'm pretty convinced that there is enough squash up in Ojai to wipe out childhood hunger in California at least.

Leave a Reply

