Zucchini Bread

I sort of hate to admit this, but I don’t actually like zucchini bread. It doesn’t make me think of childhood, or warm memories, or harvest. To me zucchini bread just tastes like desperation with cinnamon-sugar.

This week, I was desperate. But I also wasn’t far enough into getting ready for fall mode that cinnamon and nutmeg sounded like a good idea. So I decided to take the base zucchini recipe and see if I could modify it to be something that I feel like eating right now.

I added ginger and lemon zest, and it was pretty good.  A good fistful of poppy seeds would have made it better. Funny thing is that zucchini bread isn’t a perfectly neutral base. You can almost taste how it wants the warm flavors of the fall to augment it. That said, warm flavors of fall are not happening right now. Instead, this little treasure is.

Lemon – Ginger Zucchini Bread

2 eggs
1/2 C oil
2 C grated squash
2 C flour
1.5 C sugar
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
salt
zest of one lemon
1/4 tsp ginger.

Just whiz it all together and bake in a greased 9×5 loaf pan at 350 for 60 – 70 minutes.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in squash, zucchini. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

