Fries

When I was traveling in Belguim, I stayed with a family who was extremely proud of their homemade french fries. At the time, I didn’t get it – french fries are french fries, right? Throw some potatoes in oil, and call it good.

Today I know better. I tried to make some fries for the kids for the last day of vacation. We had no activities planned, so I figured that making up some fries would be a special treat. My fries were nothing to be proud of, however. Apparently there is more to the process than throwing some potatoes in oil.

Rather than figure out what I was doing wrong, however, I went a different route. I cut some more potatoes and breaded them, because I knew it would work. And, oh my, they were delicious!

Breaded French Fries:

2 medium potatoes, cut into fries
1/2 C flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
healthy dash of paprika

Mix the flour, salt, pepper, and paprika in a bowl, and then gradually add water until you have a runny batter. Heat oil (in a deep frier, if you have one). Dip fries in batter and then drop one by one into the frier. Fries are done when they float and are a nice golden brown, about 5 – 7 minutes.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in potato. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fries

  1. Coull Family says:

    Ummm yeah, can I have some? I'll bring the wine – you make the fries, that should be an entire meal! Oh, I guess we could throw in some cheese, too. Then the meal is complete!!

Leave a Reply

