Tomato Consomme

I’m back to writing about food!

Tomato consomme is not the sort of thing I would normally make. It’s not that it is hard, exactly, and it’s not even that it takes too long. The problem for me is that it takes a healthy amount of food and reduces it to almost nothing. Usually, I like my recipes to return larger, heartier portions than this one does.
With S gone for a while though, a recipe that takes tons of food and turns it into rose-colored water seemed to be just the thing. I spent three days of S’s absence eating Zucchini Bread, Tomato Consomme, and cucumber salads. Let’s just say that this is a big step up from what I normally do when I’m on my own.

That said, I think it’s an open question whether or not consomme should even count as food. There’s something deeply unsettling about eating water for dinner, even fantastically delicious water. When you are feeling a bit peckish at 9pm, I can promise you that you will not be reaching for the consomme.

Also, for anyone keeping track, the toddler absolutely will eat half my consomme, though only through a straw.

This recipe is from the absolutely essential book, Jamie at Home: Cook Your Way to the Good Life.  Buy it.  You won’t be sorry. The recipe calls for horseradish, the only ingredient I didn’t have on hand. Jamie says in the intro that he based the flavors off a bloody mary recipe though, so I freely substituted a dash of tabasco for horseradish. I have no doubt that it would have been better with the horseradish, but it was pretty amazingly fantastic with the tabasco too. Here is the recipe as written:

Tomato Consomme
Large bunch basil
4.5 lbs tomatoes
1×2 in piece of fresh horseradish peeled and roughly chopped
1/2 clove of garlic, peeled
1 – 2 Tbs red wine vinegar
1 – 2 shots of vodka
1 slice of beet (for color)
salt and pepper
Jamie’s instructions are much more detailed and complicated, but here is the gist – blend everything in a blender (stalks of basil included). Pour the resulting mush into a double layer of cheesecloth and suspend the cloth over a bowl. After 5 – 7 hours you will have gorgeous consomme.
About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in basil, tomato. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

