Banana Bread

Please forgive the terrible picture. I assure you this tastes better than it seems like it should based on the picture alone.

That said, can you believe how good this looks? When I had my bakery, our banana bread was delicious, but looked like hell. It was all flat and heavy and dark, with no hint of the loft that this bread has. The sad thing is that reading through the recipe, I have no clue what makes this one so far superior to what I used to  proudly sell. Rombauer says that it is the mixing technique, and I have to believe her, because I can’t imagine what else it could be.

NB that the recipe calls for you to bake the loaf in an 8.5 in pan and I used a 9.5 in pan.  Imagine how much lovelier it would have been in the right pan!

Best-ever Banana Bread from Joy of Cooking

In a large bowl, beat at high speed for 2 minutes:
1/3 C butter, softened
2/3 C sugar

Beat in:
1 1/3 C All Purpose Flour
3/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
until blended and the consistency of brown sugar.

Gradually add
2 Large eggs

Add 2 overripe bananas, and mix until everything is smooth.  Add walnuts, if desired.

Pour mix into a greased 8.5 by 4.5 inch pan and bake 50 – 60 minutes (reduce by 10 minutes for the larger pan like I used).

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in banana. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

