The Share

In the world of CSA life, there is a certain amount of pride in getting through your entire share in a week with no leftovers and no waste. Unfortunately, the bounty is so great that if anything unexpected knocks you off your game, it’s nearly impossible to recover. All this by way of saying that last week was not great for me, food-wise.

The share this week was lovely and plentiful. Definitely have to bring my A-game to get all the way through this one! The cucurbits are overflowing in my crisper.

The Haul:
Onion
Garlic
Beets
Cucumbers (6)
Squash (12)
Eggplant (1)
Oranges (2)
Grapefruit (1)
Tomatoes (about a zillion)
Lettuce (1)
Collards (smallish baby ones)
Chard
Mint
Basil
Cilantro

The Plan:
Zucchini Bread is a must-make
Another fresh tomato sauce
Cucumber salad w/mint
Some sort of gratin?

As I look at the list, it’s feeling less like a the sort of week where I make it all work together, and more like a week where I make a zillion different types of salads and serve three at every meal. Not terribly coherent as far as a menu goes, but with all that fresh food, it’s hard to go too far wrong!

Also, Amazon keeps suggesting that I link you all to The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo I have no idea if this is even a good book, but it has shown up in my “suggestions” queue so many times, that I’m starting to think that Amazon knows something about you all that I don’t. Let me know if you buy the book.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Share

  1. Scrumptious says:

    It is a terrible book. The plot is okay but the writing is dreadful. I don't understand how it became so immensely popular! I tried to read it a few times since my partner's whole family was obsessed with it, and then finally listened to it on audiobook because I simply couldn't get myself to plow through on my own.It features many, many sentences like these (I am making these up but NOT exaggerating): "She pulled out her Apple titanium MacBook Pro with 17-inch screen and attached it to her portable external hard drive. She keyed in her public encryption code and decrypted the emails in her Hotmail account. She watched the man staring out to sea from a bench at the end of the patio. He sat for exactly seven minutes, then took three long sips from his Coca-Cola." Seriously?

  2. Funny, my mom said basically the same thing after I posted. I guess the plot must really be something though, because so many people truly love it! Given the excerpt you quoted, however, it seems dreadful.

Leave a Reply

