Insert Your Own Name Here

I made this thing, I don’t know what to call it. I had originally been calling it a tarte tatin, until I was informed that by definition tarte tatin is made with apples. So I guess that you could call what I made Savory Tomato Upside Down Tart. Or you could probably invent something even less felicitous than that, if you put your mind to it.

I made this because it seemed very easy and CSA-friendly. I went through most of the onions from my garden, plus some from the CSA, and half the week’s tomatoes in one dish. Of course, we served a salad alongside.

Sam liked it way better than I did – I feel like it got too soggy with the tomatoes. I’m not sure how to fix this, or even really if doing so is necessary. It was certainly fine as is.

CSA Tart
1 pint small tomatoes
about 1 C onions, sliced
2 Tbs butter
1 tsp brown sugar
1 Tbs balsamic
salt and pepper
1/8 tsp fresh Thyme
Basil
1 sheet puff pastry, thawed

Preheat oven to 400.  In a 7 or 8 inch skillet, cook onions in butter until soft and sweet. Stir in sugar, balsamic, salt and pepper, and thyme.  Turn off heat and add tomatoes. Place pastry dough over the skillet and tuck in the edges, sort of under the tomato filling. Bake for 30 minutes.

Here’s the only dicey part – when the tart is cooked, invert the tart onto a serving plate. I found this step to be near impossible, what with the screaming hot pan, and the sloppy tomato filling. I’m sure there’s a way to make this step easy, I just don’t know it yet.  Top with basil and serve.

I was extra clever, and used the dough I had trimmed from the edges to make little squash, sausage, and brie tartlets for the kiddies. They devoured their little tarts!

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in tomato. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

