Fun with Frying

When I first bought the deep fryer, Sam inquired, “What are you going to do with it?”

“Funnel Cake” was my tart reply, and I was shocked when Sam seemed to actually like the idea.  Who knew?

Apparently some of that deep fried dough excitement wore off after the eggplant parm though, because the beer-battered chard stems that I made were not terribly well received. Don’t get me wrong, they were delicious. Really really delicious. They were also perfectly fried battered vegetables, and there’s only so much of that you can take.

This recipe is from the do-everything-you-can-to-hide-the-flavor-because-you-are-so-totally-over-it school of cooking. But what can I say? Chard grows pretty much year-round here, and after months of seeing it every week, you have to start getting creative.

Stems from one bunch chard, cleaned and edges trimmed
1/2 C flour
1 Tbs cornstarch
1/2 C + 1 Tbs beer
salt and pepper

Loosely combine the flour, cornstarch, beer and salt and pepper.  Lumps are ok. Dip each stem in the batter until well coated and then fry until golden brown.  Drain and serve immediately.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in swiss chard. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fun with Frying

  1. Nathan D says:

    Seems you need to just accept that when it comes to deep frying you can't be using leafy greens — gotta just jump right into donuts, fried chicken, and possibly veggie samosas.

  2. maybe some crab Rangoon? A little throwback to the Chinese restaurant days? Of course there's fries, which would pretty much make Eleanor's whole year if I started making them at home. Or I could go terrifyingly unhealthy and make scotch eggs…

  3. mangocheeks says:

    I've deep fried many vegetables, but have to admit swiss chard had never crossed my mind. I will try it, but perhaps just the stems.

  4. Scrumptious says:

    That is an inspired idea! I know I won't be owning my own deep fryer any time soon, but I wish I could come to your house just to try them as they look amazing!

  5. Mangocheeks (how sweet!) – Yes, just the stems. That's all I did. I had the stems hanging around because I had already used up all the leaves in a pasta recipe. I was a bit like frying battered zucchini.Scrumptious – You can get a fryer for about $20. You can get a thermometer for less than that. But you are always welcome for a visit. I'm learning to love frying!

Leave a Reply

