Aloe

We all know that plants convert CO2 to breathable oxygen, which is a fine reason to keep a few in the house.  What I never knew until reading The New Whole Foods Encyclopedia, is that while most plants are active during the day, there are several that are active only at night. Aloe is among them.

This makes aloe a perfect plant to keep in the bedroom, which I started doing a few weeks ago. I can’t say for sure that I’ve noticed a big difference in the quality of the air, but I do love the idea of cleaning the air in the kids rooms while they sleep. I’m also adding a few succulents to the decor in our family room. I’m generally terrible with plants, but things that need little attention should be manageable.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in better living. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Aloe

  1. PianoGirlAnn says:

    Christiana, I have about a million green beans in my garden right now and am looking for different recipes to try out (my standard one is to add almonds, tamari, rice vinegar, sesame oil and garlic, which is good, but I need some variety). Do you have any suggestions?? Ann

  2. Funny – green beans are one of the few things we NEVER get in the csa boxes – too labor intensive. I'll poke around a bit though and see if something interesting pops up.

Leave a Reply

