Squash Butter

When I first read in The Kitchn that it was possible to make squash butter, I knew that I would be trying it out. The idea that you could cook squash down to nothingness then spread it on toast seemed like the perfect solution for the 6 or so squash that show up in each CSA share.

The recipe is painfully vague though. Having made apple butter in the past, I always cooked it for hours in a crock pot. This one tells you to cook until jammy – a consistency that my squash got to after about 45 minutes.  I kept cooking it anyway, about 90 minutes total, and it is still a little chunky. I do wonder if perhaps grinding it up in a food processor and then simmering it until reduced by half isn’t a better way to go.

Also? I have a whole quart of it, which is not a bad thing, but I find that it is hard to use more than a tablespoon or so at a time, at least as a sandwich or toast spread. To get through it all, I will need to either start using it as a base for pizzas, or get creative about dumping it into omelets etc for breakfast.

That said, it tastes great. My normal breakfast now is English muffin with a bit of cream cheese and squash jam.

2 lbs squash, grated
1/4 c butter
salt and pepper

Simmer, uncovered, over low heat about 90 minutes.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

