Basil Pesto Raviolis

I’ve been wanting to make ravioli with my share for several months. The idea of filling pasta with veggies, and topping it with more veggies appeals both to my sense of CSA economy and to my love for Italian foods. And yet, I have no pasta maker, and also I have little time or patience for making my own dough, and so it never happens. This week though, I finally took everyone’s suggestion and made wonton wrappers into little raviolis.

The results were good, but not perfect. I love wontons intensely, but they just are not ravioli. They are insanely delicate, and not half as toothsome as the real thing. I would make it again – it is a good way to use up extra ricotta and pretty much anything else – but I would much rather have a pasta party with a few friends where we all work together for a morning and just make a zillion ravioli and freeze them.

I had pesto already made up from a prior share, so I just combined it 50/50 with some ricotta. One quarter cup of each will make enough filling for two servings. I filled the wontons then folded into triangles, and pressed a fork into the edges to ensure the seal would hold. Boil for a few minutes at most.

My tomatoes were exceptional this week, so my sauce was literally just cut up tomatoes, EVOO and a little garlic heated through until some of the liquid cooks off.

This is CSA bliss.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in basil, tomato. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

