The Share

I have nothing to put on my head today! This feels good. When I picked up my share and found neat little bags of lettuce ready to go, I nearly started dancing, I was so grateful. There is a bizarre guilt involved with CSA life – when you personally know and care about your farmer, you want to honor their hard work by eating all the great stuff they give you. And sometimes you just can’t. I had been failing on the lettuce front for several weeks already, and getting just the right amount in the last share made my whole week better.

The share made a radical shift towards summer this week, with lots of new items.

The Haul:
Lettuce
Chard
Arugula
Basil
Cilantro returns!
Eggplant makes its first appearance!
Yellow Squash x2
Pattypan squash x3
Onions
Potatoes
Tomatoes (gorgeous, sweet and amazing)
Apricots
Green Plums
Snapdragons

The Plan:
Squash and mushroom crumble
Pesto ravioli with fresh tomato sauce
Most of the rest will probably go into sides, except the eggplant…

I’m hunting for ideas for eggplant, which I am not naturally as drawn to as I am other vegetables. I’ve been wanting a FryDaddy Electric Deep Fryer for some time, and eggplant might be the reason I finally get one. All I can think to do with it is bread it, fry it, and dump some marinara over it – which is a condition of my upbringing in an Italian-American household, I’m sure. Recipe suggestions are most welcome!

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Share

  1. Scrumptious says:

    Is it a big Italian eggplant or a delicate Asian eggplant? Eggplant caponata is superb and great to put over pasta or have in the fridge for lunch or a snack: http://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com/2007/09/roasted-eggplant-tapenade.htmlFor a main dish, you could make my favorite Indian dish, Baingan Bartha. The site where I posted the recipe (it's not on my blog) has apparently gone through some kind of horrible formatting change, and I can't find the "Alterations" section where I had directions for using Italian eggplant and for not grilling but baking the eggplant. So you might want to find another recipe online, but this is a wonderful, wonderful way to use eggplant: http://www.grouprecipes.com/19879/smoky-indian-eggplant-baingan-bartha.htmlI loved eggplant in this Moroccan Vegetable Tagine: http://hubpages.com/hub/VegetableTagineAMoroccanInspiredFor Asian eggplants: Nasu Dengaku: http://inmybox.wordpress.com/2008/12/29/bounty-from-the-middle-of-the-table-part-1/I also love brushing eggplant with olive oil and balsamic vinegar and slicing it thinly and grilling the slices. I use them in sandwiches, to top pizza, etc. I'm a fairly recent convert to eggplant, but now I've become an eggplant proselytizer!

Leave a Reply

