Ad Hoc Leek Bread Pudding

I feel like a cheat even saying that I made this recipe, as I did not follow the directions exactly. This seems to be the way with CSA life though – you find a recipe and think something along the lines of, “If I substituted out three ingredients, I could make something pretty much like this and use up my share.” With that said, bread pudding is bread pudding, and Keller’s employs (mostly) known tricks for making it excellent. The only really new angle is a parchment lid, and I basically ignored his instructions there. I figured that any time you are intending to cook a vegetable for 2 hours, a little parchment in the beginning isn’t going to make much of a difference.

I didn’t have enough leek, or enough guests to warrant a giant bread pudding, so I halved the recipe, and threw in some finely chopped chard (because I had to use it up) to make up the remaining difference. Also, with no brioche on hand, I used egg bread and added an extra few tablespoons butter. Otherwise, I followed it pretty closely (for me). That said, I feel like this recipe is both fabulous and endlessly adaptable, and if I could find a way to make it in less than two hours, it would be a part of the regular CSA rotation.

This recipe is already on the ‘tubes. Check it out here.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in leek, swiss chard. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

