Chocolate Pattypan Bread

I confess to getting a bit lost when I saw those giant pattypan squash. Very big squash are largely flavorless, and since squash itself isn’t particularly nutritious, I seriously considered not even dealing with the squash at all. I figured I could cut one in half and serve dip out of it, or maybe roast it with some other yummy filling. But then I remembered zucchini bread, and figured that I would give some version of that a try.

Also – I got myself in trouble last week by claiming that a post on Almost Bourdain was bogus, when in fact it just didn’t work for me. Now, I used to run a bakery, so I know my way around baking pretty well, and the thing was still a major FAIL for me.

This got me thinking. Back in my bakery days, we did everything by weights rather than by measures, because weights are about a zillion times more accurate. I feel certain that if the whole recipe had been in weights, I would have gotten reliably excellent results. So for my own recipes for baked goods, from now on, I will be showing both weights and measures. I hope it helps!

Chocolate Pattypan Bread

Note: do not use summer squash other than pattypan for this recipe. Pattypan is significantly less wet than other squash, and a substitution will drastically change your results.

2 C (325 g) grated squash
1 C (770 g) oil
3 eggs (165 g)
3/4 C (159 g) white sugar
1/2 C (105 g) brown sugar
1 1/2 C (245 g) flour
1/2 C (51 g) cocoa
1/4 C (65 g) sour cream
2 T (12 g) baking powder
1 C (155 g) chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350.  Grease and flour a 9×5 loaf pan. Mix oil, eggs, and both sugars until well incorporated.  Blend in flour, cocoa powder, sour cream, and baking powder. Stir in squash and chips.

Bake for 60 – 70 minutes.

NB: I feel absolutely certain that you could make this into a cake too. Just grease and flour two 9″ cake rounds, divide the batter, and bake 25 – 30 minutes.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in summer squash. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Pattypan Bread

  1. Pingback: Pattypan Squash Chocolate Bread » Chelsea Eats Treats

  2. Sunny Hackman says:

    I used coconut oil for the oil. It was delicious and I will make it again. Next time I will try reducing the sugar by about 1/3 and also the chocolate chips by about 1/3. It needs the entire cooking time plus maybe a little more. Great recipe–thank you! I was starring at a lot of pattypan squash!

Leave a Reply

